What’s in your diet?

I have always embraced reading and a healthy “infodiet” since I was a child. When I read the second half of James Paul Gee’s The Anti-Education Era:  I thought about the affinity spaces I use to inform my thinking around topics related to education. Gee defines affinity spaces as, “ “An affinity space is a place or set of places where people affiliate with others based primarily on shared activities, interests, and goals, not shared race, class culture, ethnicity, or gender” (Gee, 2004 Loc: 67). Some affinity spaces that feed my professional “infodiet” are the Teach to Lead educator community, Twitter, and blogging. The Teach to Lead community informs my thinking with access to a national educator community focused on teacher leadership. Twitter & blogging have given me a way to discover educator voices and new ideas and practices. I committed myself to a goal of one chat per week and found I share and collaborate through this affinity space just as much as the colleagues I see almost every day face to face. Blogging too has given me an affinity space where I can engage professionally in longer musings and reflections on my learning.

brain1

Reflecting on the second half of Gee’s book, I thought about the limitations in my “infodiet” that used to occur before this year. Before this year, I primarily used the community and spaces set up by others to inform my thinking on professional topics. For example, I used Google Groups, chats, and professional developments set up by my job, organizations, and professional communities I belong to. I didn’t need to seek them out, because those networks were set up and I was being slotted right in. But there is a danger in just being satisfied rather than seeking out. This year I have focused on the latter, but I pushed myself even further this week to test the reach of my new “diet”.

brain2

When I added three new sources of information to my infodiet this week I searched for new sources based on Gee’s statement, “We seek the best answers we can, act on them as our ‘best bets’, and stay open to revising them and learning more” (Gee, 2004 Loc: 2454). The first source of information was a selection of comments on an article discussing the current MI teacher evaluation legislative bills. In reading these comments, particularly the ones I disagreed with, I realized the comments on these articles reflect a part of what Gee says society should be like. These comments are a way in “which everyone feels that they count” (Gee, 2004, Loc: 2490). People are making comments because they want to feel actions like commenting “can have a meaningful impact on others for the good.” (Gee, 2004, Loc: 2490). The comments in opposition said without hyperbole or vitriol let me know what informed citizens would say, not just the opinions of those already in my circle. The second new source I added were entries of a homeschooling blog posted by a high school acquaintance on Facebook. I found the school space I operate has much in common with the aims of homeschooling. Sharing feedback allowed both of us to develop and expand our mindsets a in a public forum. Finally, I followed a public policy group I generally tend to disagree with on Twitter (Mackinac Center). Their policy positions reflect their visions and values. But I have shared interest in education and through understanding their position I can leverage their expertise even if I disagree with it. Incorporating these different sources are already pushing my thinking and changing my worldview. Here’s to consumption of my new “diet”!

References

Carroll, Andrew. Information Diet. [Image file]. Retrieved from http://cpaandrew.com/2013/09/27/the-information-diet-a-review/

Gee, James. (2013). The anti-education era: Creating smarter students through digital learning. Palgrave Macmillan.

Johnson, Clay. Startup Information Diet. [Image file]. Retrieved from http://venturebeat.com/2012/02/21/startup-information-diet/

2 thoughts on “What’s in your diet?

  1. lerchse says:

    Sarah,

    There is a powerful comment you make in your entry this week – “..there is a danger in just being satisfied.” I hadn’t stopped to think about this before. I find that this can be true for most instances of being satisfied, not just with an infodiet. I felt, too, that the biggest part of this assignment was in seeking out new information, or sources of information. Another thing I noticed in reading your post, was how much our revisions differed. My revision focused more on a wide variety of new information, while yours focused on a new variety of education information. I’m really interested in pursuing a homeschooling perspective, as that is something I hadn’t considered researching. How cool to find that you had some things in common with your classroom and a homeschooling classroom!

    Like

  2. fieldbri00 says:

    Your additions to your infodiet are really interesting especially with the homeschooling blog. I don’t think I would have thought to add that to my infodiet. The different perspective would be fascinating. I teach high school, so I think it would interesting to see how they manage the work. I think one element that homeschooling would probably surpass the public school system is with individualized attention. With so many students it can be difficult for us to individualize attention, but this is their specialty. There is probably a lot to learn from it. I also liked how you chose to read comments. I often read comments of articles because you can really get a perspective of what the “public” think. It is really hit or miss though. Sometimes I feel that there is really good debate going on and other times it is just nonsense that is just not related or people just rant. Our county is currently going through budget issues and I have been following public forums to see what the public is thinking on certain topics. Great job!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

