Learning how to edit myself!

“Taking pictures is savoring life intensely, every hundredth of a second.”

Marc Riboud

The above quote highlights one reason why I love to take photographs. I love to capture the little moments. I felt that in learning how to edit my photographs I could properly participate in the art of photography even if I lack the proper discipline to take a correct photograph. My task for my Networked Learning Project – where I am learning a skill with only the internet as my resource – is learning how to use Adobe Photoshop. More specifically I want to learn how to use photoshop with subjects of people and portraits such as the raw untouched one below…!

IMG_5026

My progress has definitely been slower than I thought it would be. I’m pretty adept with edtech, but Adobe Photoshop is definitely a foreign land! Coupled with my perfectionist tendencies with editing and each photograph has taken me approximately one hour or more to work with….! I also found that it has gone slower because each time I find a different resource, they reveal something cool I could do to my photo so I’m constantly tinkering with them. I chose human subjects to be my focus for learning Photoshop because the valued people in my life are what comprise the majority of my photo subjects, but editing humans has a whole set of unique challenges!

I used several resources to aid me on my journey to progress in my use of Adobe Photoshop. The first of these was the Adobe Photoshop expert tutorials collection (http://goo.gl/IrA4k)  It’s an obvious place to start, but I feel as though it’s akin to men not reading the directions manual on an electronic device – some people just don’t consult the source! These tutorials were great for finding some basic information and making some simple photo edits, but didn’t really have all of what I was looking for. I also used tutorials from Youtube that were similar to Adobe’s resources, such as this one: https://www.youtube.com/user/photoshopelements, but nothing that stood out to help me. It was also difficult to consult Youtube videos while trying to edit the photos on my computer. Too much toggling back and forth!

Consequently, I decided to focus on one tool this particular week in order to have clear evidence of progress. I chose to play around with the selective coloring tool. I always love those pictures that are in black and white, but have one image that is brightly colored. Little did I know that particular editing trick is quite challenge! However, my first attempt with my maternity photos (photos I took over two years ago…) turned out rather okay. I identified what I wanted to focus on, what I felt was the focal point of the picture and followed the steps from this website – Photoshop Essentials: http://goo.gl/1ubbX . I really liked this particular resource, because it was easier to go back and forth with text when I was toggling between screens rather than back and forth on a video. Here was what my photo looked like pre-tutorial:

IMG_4986

Here’s what it looked like afterward!

IMG_4986_edited-2

I’ll leave you faithful readers with one little clip from Vine – it isn’t that interesting, but it does show how tedious editing can be. Click here and enjoy it! Next time I’ll have even more progress. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

