P to the L to the N

P to the L to the N This week I chose to focus on my PLN. Personal/Professional Learning Networks are a way of titling the people & things that you learn from. I chose to share my PLN to my blog both as a cathartic way of figuring out how all my webs of learning fit together, but also to share with you, my readers, how there are many opportunities and connections can be available. One of course being this blog.

Full disclosure – I have never thought of myself as a lonely educator…instead I feel like connections are what makes me THRIVE as an educator.

In doing this exercise on the nifty tool of Popplet –  a bit more intuitive to use than my previous mind-mapping website, mindmeister.com – I discovered three key things.

First my PLN is enormous! The orange represents the people who contribute to my PLN, the pink represents the social media that I access, the blue represents the education writers, and the gray some of the education advocacy groups I belong to. Here are some closer up screenshots of what I’m referring to:

Screen shot 2015-01-30 at 4.33.58 PM Screen shot 2015-01-30 at 4.33.52 PM Screen shot 2015-01-30 at 4.33.44 PM Screen shot 2015-01-30 at 4.33.27 PM

I give a lot of credit to the fact that I was born into and married into a fantastic group of educators so from the womb I have been surrounded by a great Personal Learning Network. That PLN has completely inspired and helped to create my Professional Learning Network.

Second, technology expands my PLN, but the largest group of contributors to it are the people behind the technology and the people I interact with through conversations, chats, emails, observations, and collaborative writing.

Third, as completely reflected in my expansive Popplet, I love to be involved. I have really worked this year on expanding my PLN to take advantage of the opportunities that are out there for educators. That’s why I blog for Big History Project, National Board and was accepted for an America Achieves Michigan Ed Voices fellowship. If I am not elevating the voice of educators, someone else will. This year, my goals are to  continue to use Twitter to expand my PLN as well as continue to seize opportunities to present my ideas on education.  What does your PLN look like?

2 thoughts on “P to the L to the N

  1. Alison says:

    Thanks for the close ups, that really helps! I love that your post focuses on your discoveries and what you learned through this reflection process.

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    So cool that you blog for Big History Project! I had a lot of fun poking around that site and seeing the way the material is organized – some really fun ways of presenting information and so intuitive. Where have you contributed most?

    I can also identify a bit with the “family of educators” thing. I wonder how common this is because I feel like I here this a lot from other teachers – that one of their parents was a teacher or their spouse is a teacher.

    Enjoyed the post. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

