Learning what I’ve always wanted to do…

This week I spent wrestling with the next assignment I was given in my CEP Michigan State class. At first, the topic doesn’t sound daunting – choose to learn something you have always wanted to learn, but you can only use Youtube and internet forums for help. Actually, the second part of this assignment was not as challenging. For help I almost exclusively go to my computer & the internet. I feel as though this part of the assignment will feel very comfortable to me. It’s the first part that I spent all week thinking about. What exactly do I want to learn and document over four weeks?

I thought and discarded many ideas, from learning how to tie a tie (ummm, only a skill for my husband to learn, thank you very much), dribbling a basketball (nope, it’s January), or learning to French braid my daughter’s hair (not quite the most reliable toddler model out there).

 imgresThen I thought of what I haven’t had time for this school year and the answer became clear. My pictures! I have a Canon camera that I received after the birth of my first daughter. I have taken MANY pictures of my daughters and refuse to pay a professional, but for Christmas this year I decided I wanted to learn how to edit those photos and make them that much closer to a professional’s touch. I received Adobe Photoshop, but I haven’t been able to find the time or the motivation to start challenging myself to learn how to edit these photos so they reach my lofty ideals. From this thought, I realized I found my Networked Learning project. I will be documenting as I learn how to use Adobe Photoshop and other editing tools to make professional-like quality photos (I hope!).

I “pinned” a couple Photoshop help sites already and saved the Adobe Photoshop resource site. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

