Back to school – always on the quest to learn!

5669222039_44316a8f0e

In 2015, I recommitted myself to blogging! Although a firm push is from the requirements for Michigan State’s CEP 810, I am relishing the opportunity to put my inspired thoughts about education out into the world.  I am challenging myself to sharpen my skills and knowledge about learning through educational technologies through this course, so for much of the first part of 2015 that will be my editorial focus.

The task this week was to create a blog (or in my case – start a new one) and write an essay about what learning is and how the learning processes of experts and novices differ. In this essay, found here: http://goo.gl/UnZZz7 I reflected on realizations I had from reading the text of Bransford, Brown, & Cocking’s (2000) How People Learn. Much of my reflection centered around how my current experience as a curriculum coordinator in a blended learning program relate to the assigned topic. I look forward to hearing thoughts, comments, and/or suggestions about my work!

One thought on “Back to school – always on the quest to learn!

  1. Talitha Gentry says:

    Hi Sarah!

    This is such an enlightening outlook on learning and understanding, and I particularly appreciated your efforts to educate students based on their own personal levels of expertise. I can remember as a young student that most of my teachers only taught us as novices, but this left major discord within my ability to focus in class because I already knew a lot of what was taught. Sometimes teachers do not acknowledge our own intrinsic motivation to learn outside of the classroom, or that parents and others in our social environments may be proactive about teaching their children.

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your insights about education, and I know I’ll be learning a lot from you due to your extensive background in education!! Great work on your essay for this week, keep up the fantastic work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

